Friday, October 7, 2011

Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to Three Activist Women

Left, Leymah Gbowee in September; center: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, the Liberian president, in June; right: Tawakul Karman in Sana, Yemen, on Wednesday.

LONDON — The Nobel Peace Prize for 2011 was awarded on Friday to three campaigning women from Africa and the Arab world in acknowledgment of their nonviolent role in promoting peace, democracy and gender equality. The winners were Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf — Africa’s first elected female president — her compatriot, peace activist Leymah Gbowee and Tawakul Karman of Yemen, a pro-democracy campaigner.
Read more

No comments:

Post a Comment